Hebrew Word Study – Hayah or better yet, ha YAH

In Exodus 3:13 Moshah said unto Elohiym, “Behold when I come to the children of Yisrael, and shall say unto them, Elohiym (the God of all gods) of your fathers has sent me to you, they shall say to me, What is His name? What shall I say to them.” And Elohiym said unto Moshah, “I AM WHO I AM”. In Hebrew, the words translated “I AM WHO I AM” are “ha YAH asher haYAH” or “The YAH who is the YAH. God simply states that He wants to be known as “the God who is the God”. He is the one God who is the one God. The one God is the one God. YAH is YAH. The “Giving One” is the “Giving One”. With this in mind the entire passage would then read:

Moshah said unto Elohiym, “Behold when I come to the children of Yisrael, and shall say unto them, ‘Elohiym of your fathers has sent me to you”, they shall say to me, “What is His name? What shall I say to them? And Elohiym said unto Moshah, “The YAH who is the YAH.” And He said, “This shall you say to the children of Yisrael, YAH has sent me to you.” And Elohiym said moreover to Moshah, Thou shalt say unto the children of Yisrael, ha Yah, Elohiym of your fathers, Elohiym of Avraham, Elohiym of Yitschaq, Elohiym of Ya’aqob has sent me unto you. This is my name forever (YAH), and this is my mark to all generations. Go and gather the elders of Yisrael together, and say unto them, Ha Yah, Elohiym of your fathers, Elohiym of Avraham, Yitschaq and Ya’aqob, appeared unto me saying, I have surely visited you, and seen that which is done to you in Mitsrayim (Egypt), and I have said, I will bring you up out of the affliction of Mitsrayim to the land of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Yebusites, unto a land flowing with milk and honey.”

And so God will simply be know as YAH, the one God, the Giving One for all eternity. This is the understanding of Paul in 1 Cor 15, “And when all things shall be subdued unto Him, then shall the Son also Himself be subject unto Him that put all things under Him, that YAH may be all in all.”

Bear with me for one more thought. “ha YAH”, “the God”, in the Hebrew came to be a word that in essence means “to exist”, “to come to pass”, “to happen” or simply “is”. “ha YAH”, the God, defines the word “hayah”. Thus “hayah” can have as simple a meaning as “to be”. As God exists all things follow God in their existence. “Hayah” is Strongs# 1961. It is found 75 times in the OT with a variety of words around the thoughts “to come”, “to come to pass” or “to exist”. The writer of the letter of Hebrews presents these thoughts of “hayah” well in Hebrews 11:6, “But without the faith it is impossible to please Him. For he that cometh to YAH must believe that “He is” and that “He is” a rewarder of them that diligently seek Him” – Look at Yeshua the Mashiach. Is it not so? Yes, of course!

I mark this writing by the one true gospel (the only good news of God, words of life): The Mashiach, Yeshua of Nazareth, died for our sins according to the Old Testament, He was buried and He rose again the third day according to the Old Testament. (Luke 24, 1 Cor 15:1-6)

This entry was posted in Understanding of the gospel, Word Study. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hebrew Word Study – Hayah or better yet, ha YAH

  1. God child says:

    Thank you, Very helpful and correct

Leave a Reply

